BVE WorldWide
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to BVE, but I'm on Mac?

2 posters

Go down

New to BVE, but I'm on Mac? Empty New to BVE, but I'm on Mac?

Post by allenz Sun Jul 29, 2012 1:56 pm

Hello everyone.

I'm new to BVE having seen some Youtube Vids. I'm on Mac here. I understand from (ipaclansite) that BVE will run on Mac but he mentioned some things I don't understand. He didn't give much info but suggested I join a forum and ask.

I tried the "main" BVE forum but registration is disabled and then I found this forum. He mentioned something about DLing DLL's but we don't use those on Mac. Then he mentioned, (You will them need to download mono and run OpenBVE via mono).

Could I get some help please?

Thanks
AllenZ

allenz

Back to top Go down

New to BVE, but I'm on Mac? Empty Re: New to BVE, but I'm on Mac?

Post by graymac Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:57 pm

Macs are a minefield for OpenBVE, it's THEORETICALLY possible to run it, but is often bedevilled with problems. Like this, for example:
Be sure you have read everything in the documentation from here:
http://odakyufan.zxq.net/openbve/index.html
Be sure you have the correct folder structure in place. Be sure you have correctly installed the dependencies.
Then when all else fails, pop down Tesco and get a trolley full of booze on yer Mastercard.

**Advice from Mac user with 20 years experience, never got it to work yet.

graymac
graymac

http://www.celtictrainsim.com

Back to top Go down

Post by allenz Sun Jul 29, 2012 7:43 pm

WOW, Thanks so much.

Allen

allenz

Back to top Go down

Post by graymac Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:38 pm

Put your system details, plus any error warnings displayed, on here and MAYBE one of the few successful Mac users might have an answer.
For instance, Mac G4/5/?; PPC/Intel? OSX 10.4/5/whatever?