BVE WorldWide
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What about implementing some randomness ?

+2
NovHak
Quork
6 posters

Go down

What about implementing some randomness ? Empty What about implementing some randomness ?

Post by NovHak Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:46 pm

Dear forum readers,

I'm new to OpenBVE, and while I'm enjoying a few routes already (most notably the London Central Line), I'm frustrated that two runs are exactly the same. No incidents, no delays, the same signals in the same configuration at the same time, what's the point with having signals when one knows in advance what they're going to be ?

If incidents were simulated too, such as delays, passenger incidents, temporarily closed stations, mechanical failures, alternate routing, for AI trains and players' alike, requiring the player to effectively pay attention to what's going on around, well, like what's required from a real train driver, I don't think that would detract from gameplay.

In the old times of BVE 2/4 there was this program called BVE Route Randomizer which looks like a good first attempt, I'm surprised nobody seemed to feel the need since then...

Or am I missing something ?

NovHak

Back to top Go down

What about implementing some randomness ? Empty Re: What about implementing some randomness ?

Post by SP1900 Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:18 pm

There is sort of a scenario in the newest Victoria Line where the game randomly chooses which platform you arrive in when you get to Brixton  Other than that I don’t know of any others
SP1900
SP1900

Back to top Go down

What about implementing some randomness ? Empty Re: What about implementing some randomness ?

Post by graymac Fri Apr 13, 2018 12:15 pm